• Welcome to the Brevard High School Band Webpage

    If you have any questions about the BHS Band please

    contact Jim Leatherwood at jleatherwood@tcsnc.org.  

     

     

    2017 Marching Band Show 

     Human

      "Connect"

    Scientific and technological advancements are constantly propelling us into new, unforeseen realities.  Like all good things, there must be a limit. Humanity always prevails!

     
     
    COMMUNICATION
    BHS Band Students receive band messages through the school approved text message service called "Remind.."  It is free. All BHS band members and parents simply text:  @brevard1  to this number:  81010  
     
    BAND FEES 
    $150
    Band fees will be collected at the Band Association Parent Meeting during Band Camp.  The fees that the students pay are only a small percent of what it takes to pay for the music, arrangements, additional instruction ,instruments and repairs. The band fee funds are used all year and are not just for marching band.  We have been asking around and most band fees are well over $500,  The Band Association is challenged to come up with the funding needed to cover the costs of the Band Program.   Thank you for your support and understanding.

    2017 Band Performance Schedule

    Aug. 18 Mtn. Heritage

    Aug. 25 Rosman
    Sept. 1 Draughn
    Sept. 8 @ Madison
    Sept. 14 (THURSDAY 7pm game time) Owen
    Sept. 22 @Chase
    Sept. 29 OPEN
    Sept. 30  Enka Band Contest
    Oct. 6 East Henderson
    Oct. 7     AC Reynolds Band Competition 
    Oct. 13 @ Franklin
    Oct. 14   Chase band Competition
    Oct. 20 Smoky Mountain
    Oct. 21   Mooresville Blue Devil Band Competition 
    Oct. 27 @ Hendersonville
    Oct. 28   App State University Band Competition
    Nov. 3 @ Pisgah 
    Christmas Parades, Christmas Concert, and All District TBA
     
     
     
    We will discontinue after school marching band rehearsals after the last competition of the season.
     
     
     Please read the COURSE EXPECTATIONS & SYLLABUS page for band policy.
     
     
     
     
    LEADERSHIP TEAM
    Please contact section leaders for ANY questions.
     

    Drum Majors

             Luke Milligan 19lmilligan@s.tcsnc.org

             Asher de la Torre 19pdltorre@s.tcsnc.org

    Junior Drum Major
     
    John Nguyen 19jnguyen@s.tcsnc.org
     
     

    Section Leaders 

    Flute- Jolene Osteen joleneosteen@icloud.com

    Clarinet- Becca Dobbins 18rdobbins@s.tcsnc.org

    Saxophone- Madison Allen 18mallen@s.tcsnc.org

    Mellophone- Jordan Wells 20jwells@s.tcsnc.org

    Trumpet- Garret Heinemann 18gheinemann@s.tcsnc.org

                     and Brian Hatter 19bhatter@s.tcsnc.org

    Low Reeds- Aaron Flynn 18mflynn@s.tcsnc.org

    Trombone- Miranda Smith 20msmith@s.tcsnc.org

    Baritone- John Nguyen 19jnguyen@s.tcsnc.org

    Low Brass- Sky Strickland 19cstrickland@s.tcsnc.org

    Drumline- Crista Cali 18ccali@s.tcsnc.org

    Pit- Sara Megown 19smegown@s.tcsnc.org

     
    HOW TO JOIN OUR TEAM OF VOLUNTEERS
    We need a lot of help providing the best experience we can for our amazing band students.  Please go to the following link and fill out the information so that you may volunteer with the band this year.  It's going to be and amazing year.  We want you to be part of the fun!  Click  HERE to volunteer.
     
     
    HOW TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN BAND 
    For BHS Band Functions 
    For All-District Band, District MPA and Solo and Ensemble: 
     For All-State Honors Band and All-Region/All-State Jazz:
     
     

    DIRECTORS & STAFF

    Mr. Jim Leatherwood

    Director of Bands

    Blue Devil Marching Band

    Wind Ensemble

    Concert Band

    Jazz Ensemble

     

    Mr. Brian Wilson

    Blue Devil Marching Band

    Assistant Director

    BHS Drumline

     

    Mr. Josh Dunn

    Percussion Tech

    Indoor Drumline

     

    Lauren Almany

    Color Guard Instructor

     

    Hanna Kimmel

    Color Guard Choreographer

     

    Deric Milligan

    Instructor

     

     
    Brevard Band Association Board of Directors
    President Tricia Poche tpoche@gmail.com
    Vice President Melissa Wells melissawells@citcom.net 
    Secretary Nancy Shuman nfshuman13@gmail.com  
    Treasurer Kathleen de la Torre KATHLEENDLT@yahoo.com
     
     
    Spring Semester Band
     
    March- MPA (Musical Performance Adjudication) TBA 
    May- Spring Concert TBA 
    June-  Graduation Performance
     
     
 Jim Leatherwood

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

BSEd Music Education MA Music Education

Jim Leatherwood

Contact: jleatherwood@tcsnc.org