Brevard High School

Welcome to the Brevard High School Band Webpage
To contact Mr. Leatherwood please use this email address: jleatherwood@tcsnc.org  
 
 
Fall Semester Band 2017
 

2016 Marching Band Show 

"Connected"  
The wacky world of scientific advancement is constantly propelling us into new, unforeseen realities. 
 
 Band Camps and Summer Rehearsal Dates 2017
**NEW** 
   -July 30 DCI NightBeat at BB&T Field, Wake Forest University in Winston Salem  6:30pm  
      Our activity bus will depart from BHS at 12pm return around 2-2:30am.
 
   -Rookie Camp Aug. 1, 2, & 3 (9am-12pm) Required for ALL inexperienced
         “rookie” horn line, color guard, percussion and leadership students.
   -Drum and Guard Camp Aug 1, 2, & 3 (1pm-6pm)
         Required for ALL percussion and ALL guard. 
 

PERCUSSION: Brian wants you to order THESE VIC FIRTH Earplugs:  http://tinyurl.com/zfa94yq

 
   -Full Band Camp (Friday) Aug 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, & 11  (9am-6pm)
         Required for ALL band members rookies, 
         experienced marchers, color guard and ALL percussion.      
   -Required Band Parent Meeting Thursday Aug 10th BHS Auditorium   
    -Band Fees Due (Checks to Brevard Band Association) *Receipts available
 
   -Summer Rehearsal Dates (Required) Aug 14, 15, 17, 21, 22, & 24 5:30-:8:00pm
 
   -First Marching Band Performance Friday Aug. 18 (Mtn Heritage Home Game)
     
   -After School Rehearsals (Required) Mon, Tues, & Thurs. 3:30-6pm
    (These start when school starts.)  Sectionals on Wednesdays TBA.
 

2017 Band Football Game and Competition Schedule

Aug. 18 Mtn. Heritage

Aug. 25 Rosman
Sept. 1 Draughn
Sept. 8 @ Madison
Sept. 15 Owen
Sept. 22 @Chase
Sept. 29 OPEN
Sept. 30      Enka Band Contest?
Oct. 6 East Henderson
Oct. 7         AC Reynolds Band Competition 
Oct. 13 @ Franklin
Oct. 14       East Lincoln or Chase band Competition? 
Oct. 20 Smoky Mountain
Oct. 21        Mooresville Blue Devil Band Competition 
Oct. 27 @ Hendersonville
Oct. 28       App State University Band Competition?
Nov. 3 @ Pisgah 
Christmas Parades, Christmas Concert, and All District TBA
 
 
We will discontinue after school marching band rehearsals after the last competition of the season.
 
 
 Please read the COURSE EXPECTATIONS & SYLLABUS page for band policy.
 
 
COMMUNICATION
BHS Band Students receive band messages through the school approved text message service called "Remind.."  It is free. All BHS band members and parents simply text:  @brevard1  to this number:  81010  
 
BAND FEES (This will change for the 2017 School Year)
The band fee is $125 for all band students.   Band fees will be collected at the Band Association Parent Meeting during Band Camp.  The fees that the students pay are only a small percent of what it takes to pay for the music, arrangements, additional instruction ,instruments and repairs. The band fee funds are used all year and are not just for marching band.  We have been asking around and most band fees are well over $500,  The Band Association is challenged to come up with the funding needed to cover the costs of the Band Program.   Thank you for your support and understanding.
 
LEADERSHIP TEAM
Please contact section leaders for ANY questions.

Drum Majors

         Luke Milligan 19lmilligan@s.tcsnc.org

         Asher de la Torre 19pdltorre@s.tcsnc.org

Junior Drum Majors
 
John Nguyen 19jnguyen@s.tcsnc.org
 
Luci Eddins 19leddins@s.tcsnc.org
 

Section Leaders 

Flute- Luci Eddins 19leddins@s.tcsnc.org

Clarinet- Becca Dobbins 18rdobbins@s.tcsnc.org

Saxophone- Madison 18mallen@s.tcsnc.org

Mellophone- Jordan Wells 20jwells@s.tcsnc.org

Trumpet- Garret Heinemann 18gheinemann@s.tcsnc.org and Brian Hatter hattersb@hotmail.com

Low Reeds- Aaron Flynn 18mflynn@s.tcsnc.org

Trombone- Miranda 20msmith@s.tcsnc.org

Baritone- Bain Brown 19bbrown@s.tcsnc.org

Low Brass- Sky Strickland 19cstrickland@s.tcsnc.org

Drumline- Crista Cali 18ccali@s.tcsnc.org

Pit- Sara Megown 19smegown@s.tcsnc.org

 
 
HOW TO JOIN OUR TEAM OF VOLUNTEERS
We need a lot of help providing the best experience we can for our amazing band students.  Please go to the following link and fill out the information so that you may volunteer with the band this year.  It's going to be and amazing year.  We want you to be part of the fun!  Click  HERE to volunteer.
 
 
HOW TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN BAND 
For All-District Band, District MPA and Solo and Ensemble: 
 For All-State Honors Band and All-Region/All-State Jazz:
 
 
Brevard Band Association Board of Directors
President Tricia Poche tpoche@gmail.com
Vice President Melissa Wells melissawells@citcom.net 
Secretary Nancy Shuman nfshuman13@gmail.com  
Treasurer Kathleen de la Torre KATHLEENDLT@yahoo.com
 
Spring Semester Band
March- MPA (Musical Performance Adjudication) TBA 
May- Spring Concert TBA 
June-  Graduation Performance
 
 Jim Leatherwood

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

BSEd Music Education MA Music Education

Jim Leatherwood

Contact: jleatherwood@tcsnc.org

CLOSE