Ethel K. Mills Celebration

Ethel K. Mills Celebration
Posted on 10/03/2023
Retired local teacher Linda Locks congratulates Camden Nelson on his academic achievements.“Young people need a strong sense of their strengths, abilities, interests, and values,” says Ray Leonard, Jr., in a quote capturing the uplifting spirit of the annual Ethel K. Mills celebration.

The annual opening-of-school celebration encourages local African-American students to use last year’s academic achievements as foundations for new successes in the new school year.
At the same time, local grandparents and parents, plus former and current educators, commemorate Transylvania native Ethel K. Mills, who served the community for fifty years as an educator, including as principal of the Brevard Rosenwald School.
Mrs. Mills’ former students remember how she instilled academic and personal pride, a cherished gift worth passing on to students today.

The awards named for Mrs. Mills recognize perfect attendance; A or A/B honor roll; level 4 and 5 scores on state exams; college-readiness on PreACT and ACT exams; success in advanced math, honors, AP, and dual enrollment courses; leadership; and character.

Elementary recognitions: Mailee Brown, Elijah Campbell, Paisly Conley, Juddorian Griffin, Markus Howell, Olivia Jones, Ava Lytle, Camden Nelson, Keiron Osbon, Isaiah Smith, Zandyn Whitesides-Mathis, Anuli Wilkes, and Cecelia Williams.

Middle school recognitions: Ju’Coreyn Bristol, Zia Brown, Zimiri Brown, Michael Cruell, Isis Griffin, Samora Griffin, Zymaria Griffin, Jezmond Howell, Stephen Howell, Camden Jenkins, Kayla-Ann Moody, and Kyra Polk.

High school recognitions: Alaana Bennett, Kaya Brown, Keeley Brown, Zion Brown, Ayanna Carter, and Niema Collington.

Founded in 2014, the Transylvania NAACP Education Committee supports local students and teachers of color, and it established the Ethel K. Mills scholars recognition in 2020 in partnership with Transylvania County Schools.

Submitted by: Heidi Bullock, Transylvania County Schools
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.